Viacom18 partners with South Africa’s Twenty20 league ‘SA20’

Viacom18, SA20

Six teams will compete twice in a round-robin format before the semi-finals and finals of the new Twenty20 league. In total, 33 matches will be played over the course of four weeks beginning January 10, 2023.

On Wednesday, Viacom 18 Sports, announced a 10-year partnership for exclusive media rights to South Africa’s recently launched premier T20 league ‘SA20’ in India. South Africa’s new Twenty20 league is set to begin to play in January 2023.

The strategic partnership between “the SA20 and Viacom18 will work closely to grow and engage cricket fans in India,” according to Viacom18 Media Private Limited, will be streamed digitally on the Sports 18 television channel Jio platforms.

“We continue to offer fans an immersive and engaging experience by strengthening our sports portfolio with some of the best cricket action through SA20,” said Anil Jayaraj, CEO of Viacom18 Sports.

“The most popular cricket format among Indian fans is T20.” The history and legacy of South African cricket and the popularity of South African cricketers in India make it an exciting proposition for Indian cricket fans. We anticipate significant viewership and fan engagement because the event will be broadcast during prime time,” Jayaraj added.
Former South African captain and SA20 League Commissioner Graeme Smith stated, “Today is a watershed moment for South African cricket.” This long-term partnership between the SA20 and Viacom18 as our official Indian broadcaster is a driving force behind our plans to build the world’s second-largest league.”

The six teams – Joburg Super Kings, Pretoria Capitals, Durban Super Giants, Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Paarl Royals, and MI Cape Town – are owned by groups that also own teams in other global leagues such as the Indian Premier League.

“With six IPL owners expanding their brands in South Africa, Viacom18 is the ideal partner to bring the SA20 into the homes of India’s passionate and cricket-loving audience,” Smith added.

Quinton de Kock, Faf Du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Rashid Khan, Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Maheesh Theekshana, and Jason Holder will also play in the SA20.